Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Weitz & Luxenberg Sponsors Annual International Asbestos Awareness and Prevention Conference

March 6, 2020
Home Firm News Weitz & Luxenberg Sponsors Annual International Asbestos Awareness and Prevention Conference

Weitz & Luxenberg is proud to sponsor the Asbestos Disease Awareness Organization (ADAO) 16th Annual International Asbestos Awareness and Prevention Conference. The conference, “Where Knowledge and Action Unite,” will take place from April 3-5 in Washington, D.C.

ADAO, an independent nonprofit dedicated to preventing asbestos exposure, holds the only annual event dedicated solely to preventing asbestos exposure and eliminating asbestos-caused diseases. Founded in 2004, ADAO is the largest United States-based independent asbestos victims’ organization. Its mission is to prevent exposure to asbestos through work with public health organizations and affected individuals around the world.

“We are honored to support the tireless work that ADAO does to prevent and find a cure for asbestos-related diseases,” said Weitz & Luxenberg co-founder and senior partner Perry Weitz. “For nearly 35 years, we’ve represented tens of thousands of individuals and families who, through no fault of their own, have had to fight this insidious disease, and we’re thrilled to support ADAO’s mission to raise awareness about the dangers of asbestos at a time when national mesothelioma mortality rates are on the rise.”

The International Asbestos Awareness and Prevention Conference began in 2005 and brings together experts, survivors, union members, and lawmakers from nearly 20 countries to connect and share the latest education, advocacy, and community support efforts for asbestos-related diseases. The 2020 conference honors individuals who have dedicated their lives and careers to aid in the fight against asbestos, helped influence an asbestos ban, or uncovered injustices that have led to the current asbestos crisis.

Honorees at the 2020 Asbestos Awareness Conference Include:

  • Tribute of Hope Award – The Honorable Congressman John Shimkus and The Honorable Congressman Paul Tonko
  • Tribute of Unity Award – The American Federation of Teachers
  • Warren Zevon Keep Me In Your Heart Award – Judd Apatow, award-winning filmmaker
  • The Dr. Irving Selikoff Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Jacqueline M. Moline
  • Alan Reinstein Award – Barry Robson and Robert Sussman

Weitz & Luxenberg has 30 years of experience in mesothelioma law and asbestos litigation and is regarded as one of the leading law firms helping families in the fight against asbestos, handling over 500 asbestos cases every year. Over the last 30 years, W&L has won over $8.5 billion from asbestos verdicts and settlements across the U.S. and have handled more than 33,000 asbestos cases to date.

Join Our Newsletter and Never Miss a Post

Request A Free Consultation

"*" indicates required fields

Your consent to contact is not required. To proceed without providing consent,  please call us at (855) 930-5906.